International Sculpture Center
Facebook Twitter Instagram

Sculpture cover



The Patron Award was established by the ISC’s Board of Trustees in 1993 to recognize individuals who have made exemplary contributions to the advancement of contemporary sculpture.

Past Recipients

2012   Olga Hirshhorn
  A well-known art collector and philanthropist, Olga Hirshhorn has devoted her life to the appreciation and preservation of art. Along with her late husband, Joseph H. Hirshhorn, she was instrumental in the founding of the Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden in Washington, D.C. She has also donated her extraordinary private collection of decorative and fine art to the Corcoran Gallery of Art where she has served as a volunteer and Board member since the 1970’s. Olga continues to be an active and valued member of the art community.

2008   Fred & Lena Meijer
  Fred and Lena Meijer, of the Meijer Foundation, are well known for their philanthropic contributions to the Grand Rapids, MI community, including support for the creation of the Frederick Meijer Gardens and Sculpture Park. In addition, they have donated land for the Grand Valley State University campus, turned an abandoned rail line into the Fred Meijer Heartland Trail, and the Meijer family continues to own the Meijer grocery chain, with each location endorsing and supporting local causes.

  Sydney & Walda Besthoff

Sydney and Walda Besthoff have specialized in collecting modern and contemporary sculpture, in addition to photorealist painting, since the 1970s. In November 2003, the five-acre Sydney and Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden opened at the New Orleans Museum of Art. It features 50 sculptures, 41 of them donated by the Besthoffs’ foundation.

  Georgia and David Welles

Georgia and David Welles “have done more to support sculpture in our community than anyone in Toledo’s history,” explains Roger Berkowitz, director of the Toledo Museum of Art, “culminating in June 2001 with the opening of The Georgia and David K. Welles Sculpture Garden at the Toledo Museum of Art.”

  Steven Oliver

Steven Oliver is the creator of the Oliver Ranch, a property in Sonoma County, CA that contains works of art by Bruce Nauman, Martin Puryear, Richard Serra, Ursula von Rydingsvard, and Terry Allen, among others. Oliver’s unusual approach to collecting has evolved over time, partly through his fascination with artistic process. Above all, he wants to allow artists time and space to engage intimately with the land.

2000 Toni Beachamp

Toni Beauchamp is an arts advocate, patron and collector. One of her greatest accomplishments to date was leading the effort to transform Market Square Park which anchors the Historic District into one of downtown’s most recognized public art landmarks.

1998   Representative Sidney Yates (D-IL)

Sidney Yates served in the House of Representative of the United States from 1949 to 1963, and from 1965 to 1999. As a Democrat from Illinois, Yates served on the Appropriations Committee where he defended and supported the National Endowment for the Arts.

1996   Senator Claiborne Pell (D-RI)

Claiborne Pell, U.S. Senator from Rhode Island from 1961 to 1997, was the main sponsor of the bill that created the National Endowment for the Arts, an agency that supports artists and arts organizations and brings the arts to all Americans. Pell was also involved in the creation of the National Endowment for the Humanities and Pell Grant, which provide financial aid to college students.

1994   Donald Kendall

Donald Kendall, recipient of the first Patron award, oversaw the creation of the Donald M. Kendall Sculpture Gardens on the grounds of the PepsiCo headquarters in Purchase, N.Y. The park includes works by Alexander Calder, Joan Miró, Alberto Giacometti, Henry Moore, George Segal, Jean Dubuffet, and Auguste Rodin.