Join | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
ISC Press Room: Lifetime Achievement Award

ISC Honors James Surls and Craig Hall at 2020 Gala Celebration

Wednesday, February 5, 2020  
Share |
Tickets on Sale Now for International Sculpture Center's 2020 Gala Honoring James Surls and Craig Hall
Tickets and tables are available now for the 2020 Gala honoring world-renowned sculptor James Surls, and entrepreneur and philanthropist Craig Hall.The 2020 Gala will be held on April 17, 2020 at the HALL Arts Hotel in Dallas, TX and will include presentations of the Lifetime Achievement Award and Patron Award. The Gala will bring together artists, arts patrons, and professionals to celebrate the remarkable career of these exemplary gentlemen, and will include a cocktail reception, seated dinner, and an awards ceremony, where James Surls and Craig Hall will be in attendance.
James Surls is an internationally recognized artist and one of the most preeminent living artists in the United States. James was born in Terrell, Texas in 1943. He graduated from Sam Houston State Teachers College in 1966 and from Cranbrook Academy of Art in 1968. He taught at Southern Methodist University in Dallas, TX from 1968 to 1976. He then moved to Splendora, TX with his wife and artist-Charmaine Locke. He lived in Splendora a little over 20 years. While there he founded the Lawndale Alternative Arts Space at the University of Houston in the late 70's. Lawndale was a thriving artist community where he continued to teach and encourage, and where he produced a large body of work. Surls currently resides and has his studio in Carbondale, CO. He has lived in Carbondale, CO since 1997. His sculptures, drawings and prints, which reflect his unique sensibility to natural forms, are in major art museums and public and private collections throughout the world, including: the Centro Cultural Arte Contemporaneo, Mexico City; the country of Singapore; Museum of Modern Art, NY; Smithsonian American Art Museum, DC; Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, NY; Whitney Museum of American Art, NY. For more information and images of James Surls' artwork visit

Craig Hall is an entrepreneur, New York Times bestselling author, vintner and philanthropist. He formed HALL Group in 1968 at age 18 with $4,000 saved from small ventures that began at age 10. Today, HALL Group's diversified business interests include active operations in commercial real estate ownership, development and management, structured financial lending, winemaking and early-stage investments in promising startups. Hall actively supports new entrepreneurs, nurtures young startups and often speaks publicly about the importance of encouraging entrepreneurship worldwide. Together with his wife Kathryn Hall, he funded the Fulbright - Kathryn and Craig Hall Distinguished Chair for Entrepreneurship to teach entrepreneurship in Eastern Europe. Hall also founded the Dallas Regional Office of NFTE (Network for Teaching Entrepreneurship). He is the author of seven published books, including his most recent, BOOM: Bridging the Opportunity Gap to Reignite Startups, which was published on May 14, 2019. An avid supporter of the arts, Craig Hall believes that art nurtures and enriches quality of life and should be made easily accessible to everyone. This belief contributed to the vision behind HALL Park and HALL Arts, which were designed with his curators Virginia Shore and Patricia Meadows, to showcase an expansive international art collection, the Texas Sculpture Garden and HALL Texas Sculpture Walk. For more information about Craig, visit

The International Sculpture Center's Board of Trustees established the Lifetime Achievement Award in 1991 to recognize individual sculptors who have made exemplary contributions to the field of sculpture. Candidates for the award are masters of sculptural processes and techniques who have devoted their careers to the development of a laudable body of work, as well as to the advancement of the sculpture field as a whole. Past recipients include Magdalena Abakanowicz, Alice Aycock, Lynda Benglis, Fletcher Benton, Fernando Botero, Louise Bourgeois, Sir Anthony Caro, Elizabeth Catlett, John Chamberlain, Eduardo Chillida, Christo and Jeanne-Claude, Tony Cragg, Mark di Suvero, Red Grooms, Nancy Holt, Richard Hunt, Seward Johnson, Phillip King, William King, Manuel Neri, Claes Oldenburg and Coosje van Bruggen, Nam June Paik, Beverly Pepper, Judy Pfaff, Arnaldo Pomodoro, Giò Pomodoro, Robert Rauschenberg, George Rickey, Ursula von Rydingsvard, Betye Saar, George Segal, Joel Shapiro, Kiki Smith, Kenneth Snelson, Frank Stella, William Tucker, and Bernar Venet.

The Patron Award was established by the ISC's Board of Trustees in 1993 to recognize individuals who have made exemplary contributions to the advancement of contemporary sculpture. Past recipients include Toni Beachamp, Sydney & Walda Besthoff, Olga Hirshhorn, Donald Kendall, Fred & Lena Meijer, Steven Oliver, Senator Claiborne Pell, Georgia & David Welles, and Representative Sidney Yates.

The International Sculpture Center (ISC) is a member-supported, non-profit organization founded in 1960 to advance the creation and understanding of sculpture and its unique and vital contribution to society. ISC programming includes awards to lifetime and student sculptors and patrons and educators, ISConnects, the web site, conferences and symposia, publication of Sculpture magazine and ISC Press books, and membership services to sculptors, collectors, patrons, architects, developers, journalists, curators, historians, critics, educators, foundries, galleries, and museums-anyone with an interest in and commitment to the field of sculpture. 

International Sculpture Center, Publisher of Sculpture magazine, 
14 Fairgrounds Rd., Suite B, Hamilton, NJ 08619-3447 USA 
TEL 609.689.1051 FAX 609.689.1061