Join | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
ISC Press Room: ISC Award Programs

ISC Announces 2017 Outstanding Student Achievement in Contemporary Sculpture Award Recipients

Wednesday, July 19, 2017  
Share |

International Sculpture Center Announces 2017 Outstanding Student Achievement in Contemporary Sculpture Award Recipients

Fifteen students have been awarded the prestigious International Sculpture Center's Outstanding Student Achievement in Contemporary Sculpture Award for 2017.
The International Sculpture Center (ISC) established the annual "Outstanding Student Achievement in Contemporary Sculpture Award" program in 1994 to recognize young sculptors and to encourage their continued commitment to the field. It was also designed to draw attention to the sculpture programs of the participating universities, colleges and art schools. The award program's growing publicity resulted in an exceptional number of participating institutions; including 137 universities, colleges and art school sculpture programs from five countries for a nominated total of 354 students.
A distinguished panel made up of Edith Newhall, art critic for the Philadelphia Inquirer and a frequent contributor to ARTnews, Philadelphia, PA; Doug Schatz, Professor of Sculpture at the State University of New York, Potsdam, NY; and Gary Garrido Schneider, Executive Director, Grounds for sculpture, Hamilton, NJ; selected 15 recipients, and 16 honorable mentions through a competitive viewing process of the works submitted. The selection of the recipients from a large pool of applicants, including international students, is a great accomplishment and testament to the artistic promise of the students' work.
The 15 award recipients will participate in an Exhibition at Belger Crane Yard Studios, which will be on view October, 2017 in Kansas City Missouri. The artists' work will be featured in the October 2017 issue of the International Sculpture Center's award winning publication, Sculpture magazine as well as on the ISC's award-winning website at The exhibition may also travel to a prestigious art institution (date and location TBD).
2017 Marked the first year ISC collaborated with Grounds For Sculpture (GFS) to create a residency program for award recipients. Each year, two residents will be chosen for a 6 week program on GFS's campus.
This program has been made possible through generous donations by Atlantic Foundation, Gertrud and Heinz Aeschlimann, Doris and Donald Fisher Fund, Grounds For Sculpture, the Johnson Art and Education Foundation, the Jon and Mary Shirley Foundation, and the New Jersey State Council on the Arts.
2017 Outstanding Student Achievement in Contemporary Sculpture Award Recipients:
James Bernard ColePrecinct; Maryland Institute College of Art, Baltimore, MD; Faculty Sponsor: Maren Hassinger
Nicholas Cox - Look at me look at me; University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, AR; Faculty Sponsor: Bethany Springer
Shawn Creeden *- Bower #36; Portland State University, Portland, OR; Faculty Sponsor: Erik Geschke
Shane Darwent -Taco bel Grotto; University of Michigan, Penny W. Stamps School of Art & Design in Ypsilanti, MI; Faculty Sponsor: Robert Platt
Cassidy Frye -Won't Let You Leave; University of Tennessee Knoxville, TN; Faculty Sponsor: Jason S. Brown
Guillermo Gutierrez - KragUniversity of Texas at El Paso, Texas; Faculty Sponsor: Angel Cabrales
Nooshin Hakim Javadi *Life is the aggregation of all moments of desires; University of Minneapolis, MN; Faculty Sponsor: Andrea Stanislav
Monroe Isenberg -Mach XXIII; University of Maryland Washington, DC; Faculty Sponsor: Foon Sham
Paloma JimenezSparkle Aplenty; Parsons School of Design, Brooklyn, NY; Faculty Sponsor: Simone Douglas
Sean Merchant - Salt Box House; Ohio State University, Columbus, OH; Faculty Sponsor: Todd Slaughter
Andrew Newell Vertical Swamp Shack; Pacific Northwest College of Art, Portland, OR; Faculty Sponsor: David Eckard & Nan Curtis
Jeremy Nuttall - A Friend; University of Wisconsin-Madison, WI; Faculty Sponsor: Aristotle Georgiades
Galen Odell-Smedley - Artificial Unintelligence: Creature 1; School of the Art Institute of Chicago, IL; Faculty Sponsor: Lan Tuazon
Corey Pickett - Ray Gun; Vermont College of Fine Arts, Clovis, NM; Faculty Sponsor: Danielle Dahline
Elizabeth Thorp - Strangers; University of Wisconsin-Madison, WI; Faculty Sponsor: Aristotle Georgiades
*2017 ISC residency at Grounds For Sculpture recipients

The International Sculpture Center (ISC) is a member-supported, non-profit organization founded in 1960 to advance the creation and understanding of sculpture and its unique and vital contribution to society. ISC programming includes awards to lifetime and student sculptors and patrons and educators, ISConnects, the web site, conferences and symposia, publication of Sculpture magazine and ISC Press books, and membership services to sculptors, collectors, patrons, architects, developers, journalists, curators, historians, critics, educators, foundries, galleries, and museums-anyone with an interest in and commitment to the field of sculpture. 

International Sculpture Center, Publisher of Sculpture magazine, 
14 Fairgrounds Rd., Suite B, Hamilton, NJ 08619-3447 USA 
TEL 609.689.1051 FAX 609.689.1061