Join | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
ISC Press Room: Lifetime Achievement Award

Lynda Benglis and Tony Cragg Honored with the ISCs 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award

Tuesday, September 27, 2016  
Share |
Lynda Benglis and Tony Cragg Honored with the International Sculpture Center's 2017 Lifetime Achievement in Contemporary Sculpture Award


The 2017 Lifetime Achievement in Contemporary Sculpture Award will be presented to world-renowned sculptors Lynda Benglis and Tony Cragg at the 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award Gala on April 26, 2017 at Tribeca Rooftop in New York City. The 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award Gala will bring together artists, arts patrons, and professionals to celebrate the remarkable careers of these two exemplary artists. The 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award Gala will include a cocktail reception, seated dinner, and an awards ceremony, where Lynda Benglis and Tony Cragg will be in attendance.
Lynda Benglis was first recognized in the late sixties with her poured latex and foam works. Benglis's work created a perfectly timed retort to the male dominated fusion of painting and sculpture with the advent of Process Art and Minimalism. Lynda Benglis resides in New York, Santa Fe, and Ahmedabad, India. She is the recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship and two National Endowment for the Arts grants, among other commendations. Benglis's work is in extensive public collections including: Guggenheim Museum; Los Angeles County Museum of Art; Museum of Modern Art, New York; The National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne, Australia; San Francisco Museum of Modern Art; Walker Art Center, Minneapolis and the Whitney Museum of American Art, New York. Lynda Benglis is represented by Cheim & Read, New York.
Benglis was the subject of an international retrospective which traveled to: The Irish Museum of Modern Art, Dublin; The Van Abbemuseum, Eindhoven; Le Consortium, Dijon; Museum of Art, Rhode Island School of Design, Providence; New Museum, New York; Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles in 2009-2011. In 2015, Lynda Benglis: Water Sources at Storm King Art Center was the first major installation of Benglis's fountains. Throughout 2016, the Bergen Assembly in Bergen, Norway will present a cycle of events, publications, and exhibitions on various aspects of her artistic practice. Also in 2016, the Museo Internacional del Barroco in Puebla, Mexico will present a major exhibiton, titled Cuerpos, Materia y Alma.
Tony Cragg was born in Liverpool, England, and has lived and worked in Wuppertal, Germany, since 1977. He has been the recipient of numerous awards including the Rheinischer Kulturpreis, Sparkassen Kulturstiftung, Rhineland in 2013; the Cologne Fine Art Award in 2012; the prestigious Praemium Imperiale Award, Tokyo in 2007 and the winner in 1988 of the Turner Prize at the Tate Gallery, London. He served as Director of the Kunstakademie, Dusseldorf, after having been a Professor there since 1988.
During the past few years, there have been several important solo exhibitions of Cragg's work worldwide: Tony Cragg: Retrospektive at the Von der Heydt, Wuppertal, Germany (2016); Tony Cragg: Sculptures and Drawings at the Hermitage Museum, St. Petersburg, Russia (2016); Tony Cragg at the Benaki Museum, Athens (2015); Walks of Life at Madison Square Park, New York (2014); Tony Cragg at the Heydar Aliyev Center, Baku, Azerbaijan (2014); Tony Cragg at the Lehmbruck Museum, Duisburg, Germany (2013); Tony Cragg: Sculptures and Drawings at CAFA Art Museum, Central Academy of Fine Arts, Beijing (2012); Tony Cragg: Seeing Things at The Nasher Sculpture Center, Dallas (2011); Tony Cragg: Sculptures and Drawings at the Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art, Edinburgh (2011); and Figure In / Figure Out at the Musée du Louvre, Paris (2011).
The International Sculpture Center's Board of Trustees established the Lifetime Achievement Award in 1991 to recognize individual sculptors who have made exemplary contributions to the field of sculpture. Candidates for the award are masters of sculptural processes and techniques who have devoted their careers to the development of a laudable body of work, as well as to the advancement of the sculpture field as a whole. Past recipients include Magdalena Abakanowicz, Fletcher Benton, Fernando Botero, Louise Bourgeois, Sir Anthony Caro, Elizabeth Catlett, John Chamberlain, Eduardo Chillida, Christo and Jeanne-Claude, Mark di Suvero, Nancy Holt, Richard Hunt, Phillip King, William King, Manuel Neri, Claes Oldenburg and Coosje van Bruggen, Nam June Paik, Beverly Pepper, Judy Pfaff, Arnaldo Pomodoro, Giò Pomodoro, Robert Rauschenberg, George Rickey, Ursula von Rydingsvard, George Segal, Joel Shapiro, Kiki Smith, Kenneth Snelson, Frank Stella, William Tucker, and Bernar Venet.


The International Sculpture Center (ISC) is a member-supported, non-profit organization founded in 1960 to advance the creation and understanding of sculpture and its unique and vital contribution to society. ISC programming includes awards to lifetime and student sculptors and patrons and educators, ISConnects, the web site, conferences and symposia, publication of Sculpture magazine and ISC Press books, and membership services to sculptors, collectors, patrons, architects, developers, journalists, curators, historians, critics, educators, foundries, galleries, and museums-anyone with an interest in and commitment to the field of sculpture. 

International Sculpture Center, Publisher of Sculpture magazine, 
14 Fairgrounds Rd., Suite B, Hamilton, NJ 08619-3447 USA 
TEL 609.689.1051 FAX 609.689.1061