Join | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
ISC Press Room: ISC Award Programs

ISC Announces 2020 Outstanding Student Achievement in Contemporary Sculpture Award Recipients

Tuesday, September 1, 2020   (0 Comments)
Share |

Twelve students have been awarded the prestigious International Sculpture Center's Outstanding Student Achievement in Contemporary Sculpture Award for 2020.

The International Sculpture Center (ISC) established the annual "Outstanding Student Achievement in Contemporary Sculpture Award" program in 1994 to recognize young sculptors and to encourage their continued commitment to the field. It was also designed to draw attention to the sculpture programs of the participating universities, colleges and art schools. The award program's growing publicity resulted in an exceptional number of participating institutions; including over 100 universities, colleges and art school sculpture programs from five countries for a nominated total of 218 students.

A distinguished panel made up of María Carolina Baulo, art historian, curator and arts writer-critic (Buenos Aires, Argentina); Angel Cabrales, artist and educator (El Paso, TX) and Peyton Scott Russell artist and arts instructor (Minneapolis, MN) deliberated over 570 images of sculptural works to select 12 award recipients and 10 honorable mentions. The selection of the recipients from a large pool of applicants, including international students, is a great accomplishment and testament to the artistic promise of the students' work.

The 12 award recipients will participate in an Artsy online exclusive exhibition from October 1 to December 31, 2020. A virtual reception will be held in conjunction with the exhibit in November 2020. The artists' work will be featured in the January/February 2021 issue of the International Sculpture Center's award winning publication, Sculpture magazine as well as on the ISC’s newly launch website at

The International Sculpture Center (ISC) is a member-supported, nonprofit organization founded in 1960 to champion the creation and understanding of sculpture and its unique, vital contribution to society. Members include sculptors, collectors, patrons, architects, developers, journalists, curators, historians, critics, educators, foundries, galleries, and museums-anyone with an interest in and commitment to the field of sculpture. Please visit for further details.

2020 Outstanding Student Achievement in Contemporary Sculpture Award Recipients:

Sungho Bae: Study for Social Presence of Intangibility; School of the Art Institute of Chicago; Faculty Sponsor: Adrian Wong

Morgan Calabrese: Exoskeleton Form #2; Eastern Illinois University; Faculty Sponsor: Matthew Boonstra

Jonathan Christensen Caballero: Service: Trash; Indiana University; Faculty Sponsor: Andrea Stanislav

Sally Clegg: Eternal Feminine (self portrait as 121 dildos); The University of Michigan Stamps School of Art & Design; Faculty Sponsor: Professor Osman Khan

Feral Fagiola: Heavy Petting Machine; Vermont College of Fine Arts; Faculty Sponsor: Danielle Dahline

John Halligan: Entrapment; University of Delaware; Faculty Sponsor: David Meyer

Lucas Knowles: BODY_LIMINAL_I; Arizona State University ; Faculty Sponsor: Susan Beiner

Ramone Lampos: It's Lonely at the Top; Maine College of Art ; Faculty Sponsor: Ling-Wen Tsai

Abbi Ruppert: Steal My Ambitions; Southern Illinois University Edwardsville ; Faculty Sponsor: Thad Duhigg

Jennifer Shelly Keturakis: Free Hugs 2.0; University of Regina ; Faculty Sponsor: Sean Whalley

Michael Thron: Corporate Colosseum; University of Maryland College Park; Faculty Sponsor: Foon Sham

Kirstin Willders: As Above So Below; Alfred University; Faculty Sponsor: Sarah Blood

For further details on the recipients and honorable mentions, visit the 2020 Student Awards feature page on the new ISC website.

International Sculpture Center, Publisher of Sculpture magazine, 
14 Fairgrounds Rd., Suite B, Hamilton, NJ 08619-3447 USA 
TEL 609.689.1051 FAX 609.689.1061