Join | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
Programs & Events: Patron Award

HALL Arts Hotel Street View. Photo by Fraiberg Hollander & e3 Photography

The Patron Award was established by the ISC’s Board of Trustees in 1993 to recognize individuals who have made exemplary contributions to the advancement of contemporary sculpture.

Recipients include Toni Beauchamp, Sydney & Walda Besthoff, Craig Hall, Olga Hirshhorn, Donald Kendall, Lena & Fred Meijer, Steven Oliver, Senator Claiborne Pell (D-RI), David and Georgia Welles, and Representative Sidney Yates (D-IL).

Craig Hall

Craig Hall is an entrepreneur, New York Times bestselling author, vintner, art collector and philanthropist. He formed HALL Group in 1968 at age 18 with $4,000 saved from small ventures that began at age 10. Today, HALL Group's diversified business interests include active operations in commercial real estate ownership, development and management, structured financial lending, winemaking and early-stage investments in promising startups.

Hall actively supports new entrepreneurs, nurtures young startups and often speaks publicly about the importance of encouraging entrepreneurship worldwide. Together with his wife Kathryn Hall, he funded the Fulbright - Kathryn and Craig Hall Distinguished Chair for Entrepreneurship to teach entrepreneurship in Eastern Europe. Hall also founded the Dallas Regional Office of NFTE (Network for Teaching Entrepreneurship). He is the author of seven published books, including his most recent, BOOM: Bridging the Opportunity Gap to Reignite Startups, which was published on May 14, 2019.

Read More

Photo by Steven Visneau


Olga Hirshhorn

Olga Hirshhorn

2012 Recipient
A well-known art collector and philanthropist, Olga Hirshhorn has devoted her life to the appreciation and preservation of art. Along with her late husband, Joseph H. Hirshhorn, she was instrumental in the founding of the Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden in Washington, D.C. She has also donated her extraordinary private collection of decorative and fine art to the Corcoran Gallery of Art where she has served as a volunteer and Board member since the 1970’s. Olga continues to be an active and valued member of the art community.
Fred and Lena Meijer

Fred and Lena Meijer

2008 Recipients
Fred and Lena Meijer, of the Meijer Foundation, are well known for their philanthropic contributions to the Grand Rapids, MI community, including support for the creation of the Frederick Meijer Gardens and Sculpture Park. In addition, they have donated land for the Grand Valley State University campus, turned an abandoned rail line into the Fred Meijer Heartland Trail, and the Meijer family continues to own the Meijer grocery chain, with each location endorsing and supporting local causes.
Sydney and Walda Besthoff

Sydney and Walda Besthoff

2004 Recipients
Sydney and Walda Besthoff have specialized in collecting modern and contemporary sculpture, in addition to photorealist painting, since the 1970s. In November 2003, the five-acre Sydney and Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden opened at the New Orleans Museum of Art. In 2019, the Besthoff Sculpture Garden doubled in size and has grown from its inception to include more than 90 sculptures, most of them donated to NOMA by the Sydney and Walda Besthoff Foundation.
David and Georgia Welles

David and Georgia Welles

2003 Recipients
Georgia and David Welles “have done more to support sculpture in our community than anyone in Toledo’s history,” explains Roger Berkowitz, director of the Toledo Museum of Art, “culminating in June 2001 with the opening of The Georgia and David K. Welles Sculpture Garden at the Toledo Museum of Art.”
Steven Oliver

Steven Oliver

2002 Recipient
Steven Oliver is the creator of the Oliver Ranch, a property in Sonoma County, CA that contains works of art by Bruce Nauman, Martin Puryear, Richard Serra, Ursula von Rydingsvard, and Terry Allen, among others. Oliver’s unusual approach to collecting has evolved over time, partly through his fascination with artistic process. Above all, he wants to allow artists time and space to engage intimately with the land.
Toni Beauchamp

Toni Beauchamp

2000 Recipient
Toni Beauchamp is an arts advocate, patron and collector. One of her greatest accomplishments to date was leading the effort to transform Market Square Park which anchors the Historic District into one of downtown’s most recognized public art landmarks.
Representative Sidney Yates

Representative Sidney Yates (D-IL)

1998 Recipients
Sidney Yates served in the House of Representatives of the United States from 1949 to 1963, and from 1965 to 1999. As a Democrat from Illinois, Yates served on the Appropriations Committee where he defended and supported the National Endowment for the Arts.
Senator Claiborne Pell

Senator Claiborne Pell (D-RI)

1996 Recipient
Claiborne Pell, U.S. Senator from Rhode Island from 1961 to 1997, was the main sponsor of the bill that created the National Endowment for the Arts, an agency that supports artists and arts organizations and brings the arts to all Americans. Pell was also involved in the creation of the National Endowment for the Humanities and Pell Grant, which provide financial aid to college students.
Donald Kendall

Donald Kendall

1994 Recipient
Donald Kendall, recipient of the first Patron award, oversaw the creation of the Donald M. Kendall Sculpture Gardens on the grounds of the PepsiCo headquarters in Purchase, N.Y. The park includes works by Alexander Calder, Joan Miró, Alberto Giacometti, Henry Moore, George Segal, Jean Dubuffet, and Auguste Rodin.

Recommendations for honorees of the Patron Award are made by peers and reviewed by the ISC's Board of Trustees. Honorees are patrons of the arts who are generous of spirit and have made exemplary contributions to the advancement of contemporary sculpture.

The Patron Award celebration can be held anywhere, and the location is determined with the recipient(s). This year, the celebration will take place at the HALL Arts Hotel in Dallas, Texas. For more information, join the mailing list or contact the Events Department at

Gala tickets are on sale now, and vary in price. An individual ticket to the Gala is $750, and table purchases (10 seats) start at $10,000. Limited tickets are available. For more information, join the mailing list or contact the Events Department at

As a policy, the ISC does not extend press passes to attend entire events such as conferences or galas. The ISC will consider requests for a member of the press to attend portions of an event such as the cocktail reception or awards portion. Please submit all requests to attend ISC events in writing to Jennifer Galarza, Conference and Events Manager, at for more information.