International Sculpture Center
Facebook Twitter Instagram

Sculpture cover


Click the thumbnails for full image
Past winners

Tyler Gaston Matan Golan Meagan Hindel Quinn Hunter
Natalie Hutchings Quinlyn Johnson Shohei Katayama Lauren O'Connor-Korb
Sherwin Rio Chase Travaille Austin Willis

: Thomas Bierlein, Minneapolis College of Art and Design, MN, Faculty Sponsor: Brad Jirka; Natalia Cuevas, University of Michigan, MI, Faculty Sponsor: Holly Hughes; Eric Ford, University of Wisconsin Madison, WI, Faculty Sponsor: Aristotle Georgiades; Kayla Gifford, The Ohio State University, OH, Faculty Sponsor: Todd Slaughter; Jeb Hedgecock, University of North Carolina, Asheville, NC, Faculty Sponsor: Jackson Martin; Blas Isasi, Tulane University, LA, Faculty Sponsor: Adam Crosson; Monroe Isenberg, University of Maryland, MD, Faculty Sponsor: Foon Sham; Samantha Jones, Northern Illinois University, IL, Faculty Sponsor: Mike Rea; Holly Kelly, University of Tennessee Knoxville, TN, Faculty Sponsor: Jason Brown; Talya Petrillo, Carnegie Mellon University, PA, Faculty Sponsor: Bob Bingham; Lauren Phillips, Parsons The New School for Design, NY, Faculty Sponsor: Jim Osman; Chantel Schultz, University of Alberta, AB, Faculty Sponsor: Royden Mills; Ian Skinner, The University of Mississippi, MS, Faculty Sponsor: Durant Thompson; J.P. Snyder, Ohio University, OH, Faculty Sponsor: Duane McDiarmid; Emily Swanberg, University of Minnesota - Twin Cities, MN, Faculty Sponsor: Tamsie Ringler; Mariah Tate Klemens, University of Wisconsin-Madison, WI, Faculty Sponsor: Aristotle Georgiades; Michael Thron, University of Maryland, College Park, MD, Faculty Sponsor: Foon Sham; Chase Young, University of Arkansas, AR, Faculty Sponsor: Bethany Springer.

The International Sculpture Center is proud to present the winners of the 2019 Outstanding Student Achievement in Contemporary Sculpture Awards. This year's program attracted a large number of nominees from university sculpture programs in North America and abroad. Ebitenyefa Baralaye, a ceramicist, sculptor, and designer, Detroit, MI; Melanie VanHouten, founder and Artistic Director of Josephine Sculpture Park, Frankfort, KY; and Alison Wong, first-generation Chinese American artist, curator, and educator, Detroit, MI juried this year's winners. From a pool of 325 nominees from 139 schools, they selected 11 award recipients and 18 honorable mentions. This annual award was founded in 1994 to recognize young sculptors and encourage their continued commitment to the field of sculpture, as well as to recognize the award recipients' faculty sponsors and their institutions. Two students will be awarded a 4 week residency at Grounds For Sculpture. They will participate in a 4 week program on GFS's campus in Hamilton, NJ. One student will be awarded a 4 week residency at Josephine Sculpture Park; Frankfort, KY. The 11 award recipients will participate in an exhibition at Littman Gallery, Portland, OR in October 2019. 2020 Outstanding Student Achievement in Contemporary Sculpture Awards submission information coming January 2020!

The recipients of the 2019 ISC and Grounds For Sculpture (GFS) residency are Tyler Gaston & Shohei Katayama. To check out 2019's recipients click here.

The recipient of the 2019 ISC and Josephine Sculpture (JSP) residency is Sherwin Rio. To check out the 2019 JSP Recipient click here.

Past recipients: 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2006, 2005, 2004, 2003.

Questions about the Student Awards? email: